Meet Jenn Smith, Donnelly College’s New Assistant Chef

Jenn

I stumbled into food service by way of a Dairy Queen Brazier, during high school. There I had my first management stint, and found creativity decorating ice cream cakes. From that point , as they say, the rest is history. My career has spanned numerous job titles and states. I have been an event coordinator for a fine dining operation, supervised inmates in a prison kitchen, waited tables, bar tended, and worked in management for local restaurants, and contract food service. I attended, at one point, Johnson County Community College, studying food and beverage management. I originally wanted to attend the culinary program. While that did not work for me at the time, I did take a few cooking classes that re lit the fire in me. I have been in and out of the kitchen for the last 10 years, but enjoy cooking the most. My interest in healthier eating, came with age, and also at the hands of my 9 yr old , who I would like to get on a healthier path for life. After seeing some of the things she was being served at school for lunch, she immediately became a brown bagger. We love to go to the local farmer’s market, and find new ways to use local product. If time and money would allow, I would love to go back to school and study nutrition. Currently, I am enjoying getting back to scratch cooking with Bistro Kids. It is easy to pop something in the microwave, but not nearly as satisfying or tasty! I am happy to be a part of the Bistro Kids team, and am looking forward to gaining every last nugget of knowledge that I can.

Jenn,
Welcome to the Bistro kids team. We are happy to have you as a part of our fun, creative team of Chefs!

Leave a Reply

