A day in the life of a Tippin’s pie

November 20

By KIMBERLY WINTER STERN

A day in a life with pie, in my estimation, is a good one

That’s because I like pie. I like to say the word p-i-e slowly, drawing it out. Like when I eat a forkful of pecan pie, chewing the pecans ever so slowly while the filling’s seductive, velvety texture coats my tongue, the buttery crust melting in my mouth.

I like the smell of a baking pie. The spicy aromatherapy blooms like a tropical flower, filling a kitchen with an irresistibly delicious, scented calm.

I love comparing notes with other pie-lovers on where to find a memorable pie — and also debating the merits of good versus sublime with those same pie aficionados.

I love writing about pie. And great pie, the kind where you lick the plate when no one is looking, has been known to break through my worst rock-solid writer’s blocks.

I even dream about pie: cream, fruit, custard, chocolate, you name it.

Pie a la mode, of course.

You might even say I’m a bit pie-crazy. I will push away a slice of thick, three-layer chocolate cake, slathered in chocolate frosting, in favor of a wedge of fragrant pumpkin pie topped with a towering spoonful of fresh whipped cream.

Even when I count calories or try to cut back on sweets, pie remains a diet staple.

So when I called the folks at the bakery where Tippin’s Premium Handcrafted Pies are made in Kansas City, Kan., and asked, “Pretty please, may I take a tour because I want to write about your scrumptious pies?” my heart skipped a beat or two.

Would they see right through my request as one from just another pie worshiper and deny it?

Would they hear my breathless voice and write me off as a pie groupie?

Would they say sorry, maybe after the holidays?

But Mark Boyer, Tippin’s very gracious president, returned my message.

“We don’t conduct public tours,” he said. “But come on over for a peek.”

Read more here: http://www.kansascity.com/2013/11/20/4635461/a-day-in-the-life-of-a-tippins.html#storylink=cpy

Leave a comment