Is Kosher the Next Big Food Trend?

A few years after I moved to New York City, I attended a luncheon where we were asked to select from a variety of meal options that included vegetarian, kosher, and low-sodium. Now, I grew up in a community where diversity meant different shades of blonde. I had heard of kosher – after all, who doesn’t know the statement, is this deal kosher? – but I didn’t really know what kosher meant other than the fact that it was somehow affiliated with Judaism.

Still I selected the kosher option based on my believing that it meant the food was better than the non-kosher option. And this common view that kosher is somehow better, purer, and healthier than non-kosher foods is an opportunity for the kosher food industry.

Read More: http://www.forbes.com/sites/larissafaw/2013/12/02/is-kosher-the-next-big-food-trend/

Leave a Reply

